Membership Directory

Journalism Association of Community Colleges Membership Directory 2017-2018

American River College
Los Rios Community College District
4700 College Oak Dr.
Sacramento, CA 95841-4286
Adviser: Rachel Leibrock, (916) 484-8903, leibror@arc.losrios.edu
Publication: The Current
Website: www.arcurrent.com

Cerritos College
Cerritos Community College District
11110 Alondra Blvd.
Norwalk, CA 90650-6269
Adviser: Christian Brown, (562) 860-2451 x2619, cbrown@cerritos.edu
Publication: The Talon Marks
Website: www.talonmarks.com

Chaffey College
Chaffey Community College District
5885 Haven Ave.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737-3002
Adviser: Michelle Dowd, (909) 652-6923, michelle.dowd@chaffey.edu
Publication: The Breeze
Website: www.thebreezepaper.com

Citrus College
Citrus Community College District
1000 West Foothill Blvd.
Glendora, CA 91741-1899
Adviser: Patrick Schmiedt, (626) 857-4192, pschmiedt@citruscollege.edu
Publication: The Clarion
Website: www.ccclarion.com
Adviser: Meg O’Neil, (626) 914-8588, moneil@citruscollege.edu
Publication: Logos Magazine
Website: www.logosmagazinecc.com

City College of San Francisco
San Francisco Community College District
50 Phelan Ave., V67
San Francisco, CA 94112-1898
Adviser: Juan Gonzales, (415) 239-3446, jagonzal@ccsf.edu
Other contacts: Jessica Lifland, (415) 385-5689, jess@jessicalifland.com
Jon Rochmis, (415) 948-6881
Publication: The Guardsman and Etc. magazine
Website: www.theguardsman.com

College of the Sequoias
Sequoias Community College District
915 South Mooney Blvd.
Visalia, CA 93277-2234
Adviser: Judy House Menezes, (559) 730-3889, judyh@cos.edu
Publication: The Campus
Website: thecampusjournal.com

Contra Costa College
Contra Costa Community College District
2600 Mission Bell Dr.
San Pablo, CA 94806-3195
Adviser: Paul DeBolt, (510) 215-3823, pdebolt@contracosta.edu
Publication: The Advocate
Website: www.cccadvocate.com

Cosumnes River College
Los Rios Community College District
8401 Center Parkway
Sacramento, CA 95823-5799
Adviser: Rubina Gulati, (916) 691-7630, GulatiR@CRC.losrios.edu
Publication: The Connection
Website: www.thecrcconnection.com

Cypress College
North Orange County Community College District
9200 Valley View
Cypress, CA 90630
Adviser: Michael Coronado, (714) 484-7267, mcoronado@cypresscollege.edu
Publication: Cypress Chronicle
Website: TK when operable

De Anza College
Foothill-DeAnza Community College District
21250 Stevens Creek Blvd.
Cupertino, CA 95014-5797
Adviser: Cecilia Deck, (408) 864-8588, deck cecilia@fhda.edu
Publication: La Voz News
Website: www.lavozdeanza.com

Diablo Valley College
Contra Costa Community College District
321 Golf Club Road
Pleasant Hill, CA 94523
Adviser: Mary Mazzocco, (925) 969-2537, mmazzocco@dvc.edu
Publication: The Inquirer
Website: www.dvcinquirer.com

East Los Angeles College
Los Angeles Community College District
1301 Avenida Cesar Chavez
Monterey Park, CA 91754-6099
Advisers: Jean Stapleton, (323) 265-8875, staplej@elac.edu
Sylvia Rico-Sanchez, (323) 415-5087, ricosasy@elac.edu
Publication: Campus News
Website: www.elaccampusnews.com

El Camino College
El Camino Community College District
16007 Crenshaw Blvd.
Torrance, CA 90506-0002
Adviser: Stefanie Frith, (951) 858-2140, stefaniefrith@gmail.com
Publication: The Union
Website: eccunion.com

Foothill College
Foothill-DeAnza Community College District
12345 El Monte Road
Los Altos Hills, CA 94022
Adviser: Judith Walgrin, (415) 205-6843, walgrenjudith@fhda.edu
Other contacts: Che Meneses, menesesche@fhda.edu; Brian Lewis, lewisbrian@fhda.edu
Publication: The Script
Website: foothillscript.com

Fresno City College
State Center Community College District
1101 E. University Ave.
Fresno, CA 93741-0001
Adviser: Dympna Ugwu-Oju, (559) 442-4600 ext. 8190, dympna.ugwu-oju@fresnocitycollege.edu
Publication: The Rampage
Website: therampageonline.com

Fullerton College
North Orange County Community College District
321 E. Chapman Ave.
Fullerton, CA 92832-2095
Advisers: Jay Seidel, (714) 992-7000 ext. 26700, jaydseidel@yahoo.com
Julie Patel, (714) 992-7570, JPatel@fullcoll.edu
Publication: The Hornet and Inside Fullerton
Website: hornet.fullcoll.edu and http://www.insidefullerton.com

Glendale College
Glendale Community College District
1500 N. Verdugo Road
Glendale, CA 91208-2894
Adviser: Reut Rory Cohen,(818) 240-1000 X 5214, rcohen@glendale.edu
Publication: El Vaquero
Website: www.elvaq.com

Glendale Community College
Maricopa County Community College District
6000 W. Olive Ave.
Glendale, AZ 85302
Adviser: Jenna Duncan, (623) 845-3914, jenna.duncan@gccaz.edu
Publication: The Voice
Website: http://thevoice.gccaz.edu

Golden West College
Coast Community College District
15744 Goldenwest St.
Huntington Beach, CA 92647-0592
Adviser: Gary Metzker, (562) 355-9641, gary.metzker@gwc.cccd.edu
Department aide: Katie Cumper, (714) 315-9450, gwckcumper@yahoo.com
Publication: The Western Sun
Website: westernsun.us

Laney College
Peralta Community College District
900 Fallon St.
Oakland, CA 94607-4893
Advisers: Burt Dragin, (510) 464-3459, Bdragin@peralta.edu
Scott Strain, (510) 464-3488, sastrain@peralta.edu
Publication: The Laney Tower
Website: https://medium.com/Laney-Tower/

Las Positas College
Chabot-Las Positas Community College District
3000 Campus Hill Dr.
Livermore, CA 94551
Adviser: Melissa Korber, 510-541-9669, mkorber@laspositascollege.edu
Co-Adviser for Naked: Marcus Thompson, II
Publication: The Express and Naked magazine
Website: lpcexpressnews.com

Long Beach City College
Long Beach Community College District
4901 E. Carson St.
Long Beach, CA 90808-1706
Adviser: Pat McKean, (562) 938-4282, pmckean@lbcc.edu
Other contacts: Chris Viola; Walter Hammerwold, whammerwold@lbcc.edu
Publication: Viking News
Website: www.lbccviking.com

Los Angeles Harbor College
Los Angeles Community College District
1111 Figueroa Place
Wilmington, CA 90744
Adviser: Paul McLeod, (310) 233-4289, mcleodpl@lahc.edu
Publication: Harbor Tides
Website: harbortides.wordpress.com

Los Angeles Pierce College
Los Angeles Community College District
6201 Winnetka Ave.
Woodland Hills, CA 91371-0001
Advisers: Jill Connelly, (818) 710-2960 (818) 719-6483, conneljp@piercecollege.edu
Other contacts: Jeff Favre, favrejj@piercecollege.edu
Matt Thacker, thackemn@piercecollege.edu
Publication: The Roundup and the Bull Magazine
Website: www.theroundupnews.com and www.thebullmag.com

Los Medanos College
Contra Costa Community College District
2700 E. Leland Road
Pittsburg, CA 94565-5197
Advisers: Cindy McGrath, (925) 473-7827, cmcgrath@losmedanos.edu and mcgrathlmc@aol.com
Curtis Corlew, (925) 473-7820, ccorlew@losmedanos.edu
Publication: Experience and Expressions magazine
Website: lmcexperience.com

Moorpark College
Ventura County Community College District
7075 Campus Road
Moorpark, CA 93021-1695
Advisers: Joanna Miller, (805) 404-6684, joannamiller@vcccd.edu
Michael Hoffman, (805) 504-5764, mhoffman@vcccd.edu
Publication: Student Voice
Website: www.studentvoiceonline.com

Mt. San Antonio College
Mt. San Antonio Community College District
1100 N. Grand Ave.
Walnut, CA 91789-1399
Adviser: Toni Albertson, (909) 594-5611 ext. 6130, talbertson@mtsac.edu
Publication: Sac.Media and Substance.media magazine
Website: sac.media

Orange Coast College
Coast Community College District
2701 Fairview Road
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Advisers: Cathy Werblin, (714) 432-5094, cwerblin@occ.cccd.edu
Annie Hsu, (714) 432-5561
Publication: Coast Report
Website: www.coastreportonline.com

Palomar College
Palomar Community College District
1140 West Mission Road
San Marcos, CA 92069-1487
Adviser: Erin Hiro, (760) 744-1150 ext. 2450, ehiro@palomar.edu
Publication: The Telescope
Website: www.the-telescope.com

Pasadena City College
Pasadena Area Community College District
1570 E. Colorado Blvd.
Pasadena, CA 91106-2003
Adviser: Nathan McIntire, (626) 585-7500, mcintirenathan@gmail.com
Website: www.pcccourier.com

Rio Hondo College
Rio Hondo Community College District
3600 Workman Mill Road
Whittier, CA 90601-1699
Adviser: Wendy Carrera, (562) 908-3453, wcarrera@riohonda.edu
Publication: El Paisano Newspaper and La Cima Magazine
Website: www.elpaisanoonline.com

Riverside City College
Riverside Community College District
4800 Magnolia Ave.
Riverside, CA 92506-1293
Adviser: Allan Lovelace, (951) 222-8487, allan.lovelace@rcc.edu
Other contact: Matt Schoenmann
Publication: Viewpoints
Website: www.viewpointsonline.org

Sacramento City College
Los Rios Community College District
3835 Freeport Blvd.
Sacramento, CA 95822-1386
Adviser: Jan Haag, (916) 558-2696, haagj@scc.losrios.edu
Other contacts: Randy Allen, randyallensmail@gmail.com
Publication: Express
Website: www.saccityexpress.com

Saddleback College
South Orange County Community College District
28000 Marguerite Parkway
Mission Viejo, CA 92692-3699
Advisers: Tim Posada, (949) 558-4724, tposada@saddleback.edu
Maryanne Shults, (949) 582-4688, mshults@saddleback.edu
Lab Technician: Ali Dorri, (949) 582-4987, adorri@saddleback.edu
Publication: Lariat
Website: www.lariatnews.com

San Diego City College
San Diego Community College District
1313 Park Blvd., BT-101
San Diego, CA 92101-4787
Advisers: Tara Pixley, (770) 331-9107, tpixley@gmail.com
Jerry McCormick
Publication: City Times
Website: www.sdcitytimes.com

San Diego Mesa College
San Diego Community College District
7250 Mesa College Drive
San Diego, CA 92111
Adviser: Janna Braun, (619) 388-2338, jannab128@gmail.com
Publication: The Mesa Press
Website: mesapress.com

San Joaquin Delta College
San Joaquin Delta Community College District
5151 Pacific Ave.
Stockton, CA 95207-6370
Adviser: Tara Cuslidge-Staiano, (209) 954-5286, tcuslidge-staiano@deltacollege.edu
Publication: The Collegian
Website: deltacollegian.net

San Jose City College
San Jose Evergreen Community College District
2100 Moorpark Ave.
Technology Center, Room 302
San Jose, CA 95128-2799
Adviser: Farideh Dada, (408) 298-2181 ext. 3215, farideh.dada@sjcc.edu
Publication: San Jose City College Times
Website: sjcctimes.com

Santa Barbara City College
Santa Barbara Community College District
721 Cliff Drive
Santa Barbara, CA 93109-2394
Adviser: Patricia Stark, (805) 730-4178, starkp@sbcc.edu
Lab Teaching Assistant: John Rose, jtrose@pipeline.sbcc.edu
Publication: The Channels
Website: thechannels.org

Santa Monica College
Santa Monica Community College District
1900 Pico Blvd.
Santa Monica, CA 90405-1628
Adviser: Ashanti Blaize-Hopkins, (310) 434-8858, blaize_ahanti@smc.edu
Other contacts: Gerard Burkhart, (818) 207-0273, gbpix@earthlink.net
Sharyn Obsatz, obsatz_sharon@smc.edu
Publication: The Corsair
Website: www.thecorsaironline.com

Santa Rosa Junior College
Sonoma County Community College District
1501 Mendocino Ave.
Santa Rosa, CA 95401-4395
Adviser: Anne Belden, (707) 527-4867, abelden@santarosa.edu
Publication: The Oak Leaf
Website: www.theoakleafnews.com

Skyline College
San Mateo County Community College District
3300 College Dr.
San Bruno, CA 94066-1662
Adviser: Nancy Kaplan-Biegel, (650) 738-4297, kaplann@smccd.edu
Publication: The Skyline View and Viewpoints magazine
Website: www.theskylineview.com

Southwestern College
Southwestern Community College District
900 Otay Lakes Road
Chula Vista, CA 91910-7299
Adviser: Max Branscomb, (619) 421-6700 ext. 5701, mbranscomb@swccd.edu
Publication: Southwestern College Sun
Website: www.theswcsun.com